Please assign a menu to the primary menu location under menu


‘The Wheel of Time’ book series by Robert Jordan: All you need to know

'The Wheel of Time' book series by Robert Jordan: All you need to know

Written by Robert Jordan and completed posthumously by Brandon Sanderson, The Wheel of Time is one of the greatest achievements in epic fantasy genre which has sold 90 million copies worldwide so far.

It was written by the American author James Oliver Rigney Jr. under the pen name Robert Jordan.

James Oliver Rigney asked himself, “What would it be like to be tapped on the shoulder and told you were going to save the world, but also destroy it?” and began writing the first novel The Eye of the World in 1984.

The first volume was first published by Tor Books and released on January 15, 1990. It consists of a prologue and 53 chapters.

The complete book series consists of 14 main-sequence novels which are a continuation of the same story ascending towards an ultimate climax.

The story takes place both in our past and our future and tells the journey of a man destined to face the Evil One and save the world—or destroy it in the process.

The Wheel of Time turns and Ages come and pass. What was, what will be, and what is, may yet fall under the Shadow.
 Robert Jordan

The story follows Moiraine on a world-spanning journey with five young men and women.

Moraine is a member of an influential all-female organization called the ‘Aes Sedai’ in a world where magic exists, but only women can use it.

Known for its rich and expansive storytelling, the series contains more than 1,800 named characters, from Aes Sedai, Warders, and nobility, to humble farmers and maids, from powerful warriors to peacekeepers.

On September 16, 2007, Robert Jordan passed away due to a rare blood disease called cardiac amyloidosis working on the final volume, A Memory of Light.

Thereafter, his legacy was carried on by fellow fantasy author and Wheel of Time fan, Brandon Sanderson who wrote the final 3 books in the series, (Books 12-14) and finished the journey over twenty years in the making.

Sanderson was chosen for the job by Harriet McDougal, Robert Jordan’s wife and editor, after he passed away. 

The series of books include the following titles:

 * New Spring: The Novel, published in 2004 is the prequel novel where the events take place roughly twenty years before the beginning of The Eye of the World. It consists of 26 chapters and an epilogue. 

According to Goodreads, it is recommended to read the prequel, New Spring, after book 10, Crossroads of Twilight.

  1. The Eye of the World (1990)
  2. The Great Hunt (1990)
  3. The Dragon Reborn (1991)
  4. The Shadow Rising (1992)
  5. The Fires of Heaven (1993)
  6. Lord of Chaos (1994)
  7. A Crown of Swords (1996)
  8. The Path of Daggers (1998)
  9. Winter’s Heart (2000)
  10. Crossroads of Twilight (2003)
  11. Knife of Dreams (2005)
  12. The Gathering Storm (2009) by Robert Jordan & Brandon Sanderson
  13. Towers of Midnight (2010) by Robert Jordan & Brandon Sanderson
  14. A Memory of Light (2013) by Robert Jordan & Brandon Sanderson

As the biggest-selling work of epic fantasy series since The Lord of the Rings, each book of the series has appeared on the New York Times best-seller list, and each one since the eighth (The Path of Daggers) debuted at #1.

On April 28 2016, the Robert Jordan Estate confirmed that a Wheel of Time TV series was now in official development with a major studio.

Scheduled to be premiered on November 19, 2021, the series of 15 books have been adapted into a TV show under the banner of Amazon Prime Video.

Leave a Reply